Handicap Parking

Handicap parking, Clearwater handicap, ADA Parking, Beach ADA Parking

Handicap parking permits or tags must be properly displayed and only used when the vehicle is transporting the person to whom the displayed permit is issued. If the permit holder is not exiting the vehicle, then the permit may not be used.

Permits are registered one permit per name. A permit is registered to a person, not to a vehicle. For the full set of rules and regulations about handicap parking, see Florida State Statutes 316 & 320.

Handicap Rules in Clearwater

Where can I park?

Off-Street Metered Parking
  • The permit is valid at any metered parking space without any time restrictions regardless of the time limit on the meter.
  • The only exception is when the spaces are posted with a time restriction for Handicap Parking (i.e., Marina parking). (F.S. 316.1964(2)).
  • All other rules of the spaces/lot must be followed (i.e., no parking after 10 p.m.).
On-Street Metered Parking
  • The permit is valid at any metered parking space located “on-street” with a 4-hour time limit regardless of the posted or metered time limit (F.S. 316.1964(5)).
Parking Garages
  • A valid handicap permit or tag does NOT exempt the driver from paying all parking fees in any cashier-operated parking facility (i.e., surface lots or parking garages) unless the vehicle is equipped with specialized equipment, such as ramps, lifts or foot/hand controls OR the vehicle is properly displaying the Florida Toll Exemption permit. In either of these two cases, the vehicle would be exempt from paying parking fees. (F.S.316.1964(8)).

Do I have to pay for parking?

Vehicles with handicap tags/placards that are parked at paid or timed spaces in the city of Clearwater do not have to pay for parking, but all posted time limits and restrictions must be followed. A valid handicap permit or tag does NOT exempt the driver from paying all parking fees in any cashier-operated parking facility (i.e., surface lots or parking garages) unless the vehicle is equipped with specialized equipment, such as ramps, lifts or foot/hand controls OR the vehicle is properly displaying the Florida Toll Exemption permit. In either of these two cases, the vehicle would be exempt from paying parking fees. (F.S.316.1964(8)).

The Do's & Don'ts of Handicap Parking

DO

  1. Hang permit on your rearview mirror.

  2. Hang permit so the expiration date can be seen.

  3. Have permit registration with you at all times.

  4. Make sure permit is not expired.

  5. Park properly in disabled space.

  6. Remove permit before driving.

  7. Get permit replaced immediately if lost.

  8. Return permit to DMV if permit is no longer needed.

  9. Always use your own permit.

  10. Be courteous to police and parking officials.

DON'T

  1. Don’t use someone else’s permit (including relatives).

  2. Don’t park in Access Aisle (Striped Area). The fine for parking in an Access Aisle is $255, even with a permit.

  3. Don’t drive with a permit hanging on rearview mirror.

  4. Don’t use an expired permit.

  5. Don’t put the permit on dash with expiration date covered up.

  6. Don’t let anyone else use your permit, including close family members and relatives.